23
Sep
11

Ponderings of a HOH/Deaf Adult…

These are some things I wonder about:

  • Are HOH or deaf people the worst sneakers around?  Can we sneak behind people quietly?  Is it possible for us to be as quiet as a normal hearing person?  I have often wondered if my kids heard me sneaking into their rooms to do the fallen tooth/fairy $$ exchange or if they heard “Santa” putting the presents out late in the evening (or early in the morning).
  • This may be TMI, but do you hear other people in public restrooms? 😐
  • Can normal hearing people hear other people breathe?  Do HOH/Deaf people breathe “louder”?  I have been told once before that my breathing is loud, so I wonder if I do this just so I can hear myself breathe. 🙂
  • Do HOH/Deaf people sleep better than normal hearing people? Nice to turn off the ears at night. 🙂
  • Do we type louder just so we can hear ourselves type?
  • Is road noise louder for us than for normal hearing people?  I’ve always been sensitive to road noise…I will be first to breathe sigh of relief when we hit smooth, blacktop surface.  Same thing with the beach/ocean…I always feel like I talk louder…almost to yelling point.
  • Do HOH/Deaf people get louder when they are excited?  Much like little kids do?  I know I still do it.
That’s just a fraction of things I have wondered about…it will be interesting to compare this to when my “new” ear starts exceeding limits that will then have no boundaries. 🙂

0 Responses to “Ponderings of a HOH/Deaf Adult…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


September 2011
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other subscribers

Previous Posts

Blog Stats

  • 2,640 hits